by Ravana

supported by


Cover design / photo by
Dr. Das - drdas.bandcamp.com/music

What we call the five elements: solid, liquid, gaseous, luminous, ethereal. After that the state of existence is mental and beyond that spiritual. Meditation consists in this practice [of dissolving every thing into the ultimate Reality — spirit]. The solid melts into liquid, that into gas, gas into ether, then mind, and mind will melt away. All is spirit.

We all struggle. . . . If we cannot reach the Absolute, we will get somewhere, and it will be better than were we are now.

Some of the Yogis claim that this body will become liquid etc. You will be able to do any thing with it — make it little, or gas pass through this wall — they claim. I do not know. I have never seen anybody do it. But it is in the books. We have no reason to disbelieve the books.

In the Siddha system of medicine, man is viewed as a microcosm and the universe as a macrocosm. In other words, man is a miniature universe in himself. The whole universe in turn is believed to be constituted of five primordial elements or Panchabhootham viz. Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space and so is man.

In Siddha, Vaatham, Pitham and Kabham which are the three humours, are responsible for the creation, preservation and destruction of human body and health. When they are in the state of equilibrium (4:2:1-the ratio in which they exist) our body remains in a healthy state while any disturbance in this ratio leads to diseased state or death.

72% of the body is Water
12% is Earth
6% is Air
4% is Fire
6% is Space / Aakash


Vaatham represents the elements ‘air’ and ‘space’. It is responsible for all movements of mind and body. Motor, sensory activities are governed by vaatham. Although vaatham is present all over the body, it predominates in the region below navel and based on its function it is classified into the following ten types:

1 Piranan : Controls respiration and circulation
2 Abanan : Controls excretory acts
3 Viyanan : Spread all over the body and controls body movements
4 Samanan :Controls digestion, absorption and assimilation
5 Udhanan : Controls speech
6 Naagan : Responsible for knowledge and skills
7 Koorman : Provides strength, vision
8 Kirugaran : Responsible for taste, appetite, reflexes
9 Devathathan : Responsible for emotions like anger
0 Thananjeyan : Gets expelled out from the body on 3rd day after death


Pitham represents the element-‘fire’ (thee) in our body and is responsible for the preservation of health. It maintains the body heat for normal physiology and dominates the chest and abdominal area. It exhibits itself in five forms within our body. They are:

1 Anala Pitham : Involved in digestion
2 Ranjaga Pitham : Involved in blood cells production
3 Saathaga Pitham : Involved in intellectual acts
4 Aalosaga Pitham : Gives colour and shine to skin
5 Pirasaga Pitham : Involved in visualizing and analyzing process


Kabham is formed by the elements ‘earth and water’. It is responsible for strength, joint movements, body built and endurance. It dominates the head and neck region. There are five forms of Kabham as follows

1 Avalambagam Located in the lungs and co-ordinates the other forms of kabham
2 Kilaetham : Digestion
3 Pothagam : Helps in perception of taste
4 Tharpagam : Cools the eyes
5 Santhigam : Responsible for movements of joints


released July 1, 2017




Ravana New Delhi, India

In a Word: Mystical

In a sense, electronic music is a vacuum  - the entire damn genre started off as nothing more than a series of electrical inventions which gained popularity after composers applied them to their own cultures. New Delhi-based artist Ravana, named after the antagonist of Valmiki’s epic poem Ramayana, follows in these classics’ footsteps to re-imagine their music. ... more

contact / help

Contact Ravana

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code